What is a SAR Report and how is it structured?

Reading time: 3 minutes - Difficulty: medium
In Oil & Gas, the SAR Report is commonly requested and accepted. But what is this document and how is it structured?

What the Safety Analysis Report is for

SAR stands for Safety Analysis Report, and is defined by NOG070, which is the guideline jointly developed by operators, suppliers and engineering companies, with financial support from the Norwegian Oil and Gas Association.

The SAR is a document that analyzes the SIL capability of a set of devices used within a SIS (Safety Instrumented System) according to the IEC 61511 standard. The first objective of this paper is to verify that the safety requirements defined in SRS are met.


More information:


The SAR generally is carried out in the case of the integration of multiple components, but NOG070 indicates that it can also be issued for single components, obviously only indicating the relevant information.


Contents of the SAR Report

A typical index of a SAR Report is organized in this way:

  1. Introduction
  2. System Description
  3. System Topology and Block Diagram
  4. Operational description of the system (including modes of operation)
  5. Assumptions
  6. Failure rate of the components
  7. Common Cause failures (CCF)
  8. Diagnostic Coverage & Safe Failure Fraction
  9. Behaviour of system/components on detection of a fault
  10. Factory testing
  11. Proof testing
  12. Architectural Constraints
  13. Avoidance and Control of Systematic Failures
  14. Effective time to repair
  15. Software documentation
  16. Results



More information:


Do you want to learn more about IEC 61511?

Configuration Management in the field of Safety and Cybersecurity

What is Configuration Management? Configuration is a set of elements that are part of the project that allow you to have full control of the product and know the essence of development. Configuration must at least show the following product information: Hardware Version Firmware version Possible variants or options Supplemental documentation, i.e. drawings, BOM, firmware […]

Read more
Byhon Logo bianco

Subscribe to our newsletter to stay up to date on Functional Safety and Industrial Cyber Security news and events

Send this to a friend